Meet the artists: Vasiliki Stasinaki

Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform is excited to announce the fifth interview in a series profiling the upcoming choreographers and artists for our third platform which takes place Tuesday, November 10th at The Galvanisers Union. 

For this interview be the first to hear from one of the two visual artists showcasing work at the platform. 


Vasiliki Stasinaki (2)Vasiliki Stasinaki: Through her work Vasiliki attempts to question and explore her place in the world from a social and political point of view by creating performative interventions that take place in a defined space. She is interested in building environments and creating situations that induce a specific emotional state in the audience by prompting it to observe, question and participate. She uses sculpture, textile and printmaking based techniques and processes to create installations and site specific pieces that put the audience and its experience at the centre of the attention. Her work is informed by her practice both as an artist and as a dancer-performer.

Vasiliki is a Greek dance and visual artist based in London. She studied dance at the Greek State School of Dance, the Greek National Ballet School and the Northern School of Contemporary Dance. She studied art at Heatherley’s School of Fine Art and at City Lit – UAL. As a freelance dancer she has worked with companies and choreographers in Greece, UK and Ireland. This is the second time she exhibits her work in London.

“Protect”

“PROTECT”

Exposed and vulnerable bodies seeking protection. Protection that suffocates. Now and always, here and everywhere. Sculpture. Embroidery. Quilt.

We were fortunate enough to sit down with Vasiliki and ask her some questions regarding her work and interest in Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform. Please note that not all the work you see here is being presented at the platform.


Why did you want to take part at Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform?

It is really important for me to grab every opportunity to show the work and Kaleidoscopic Arts is a great platform. Also the fact that I will be showing my work in the space where the dance performances will take place is really intriguing. It adds an extra element to the work that I am happy to take on board and work with.

“sisyphus”

What do you enjoy the most while creating? 

What I enjoy the most is the fact that the process of making itself is art. I don’t force end results or products so when I am making I feel that every step of the process is already a product that can be seen, used, raise questions, make people think. Through creating I am trying to figure out what I am doing, why I am actually here in this world this time I am trying to answer my questions.
What do you expect from your participation at Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform. How will this help you to develop your work further?

I hope that people will be stimulated by what they see. I hope to start a conversation by raising my questions publicly, show where my exploration took me and make people interested in responding. And, obviously if someone wants to take the work home I’d be very happy.

“Torpid” detail

What is your outlook on female choreographers/artists? Do you have a strong opinion? Does your work reflect that opinion? 

I believe that women and men and more specifically in our case female and male choreographers and artists should be equal in their rights and the chances they’ve been given. Within their work environment and within the society they live. Of course there is still a long way to go. I do consider myself a feminist and I am glad to take part in a platform that celebrates female creative talent!
Why do you do what you do? What does creating mean to you? Essentially why do you create art? 

I constantly ask myself why I am making art. I don’t think it should go without question. For me it’s the instinctive way to find out why I am here in this place and time and what is my physical and political role in society. Art gives me all the resources and materials that I need in order to find the answers to my questions. And while in the process of making and discovering I realize that through my act of making I can create a real impact within my social environment.

“Torpid”

Anything else you want to say about your work?

Through my work I attempt to question and explore my place in the world from a social and political point of view by creating performative interventions that take place in a defined space. I am interested in building environments and creating situations that induce a specific emotional state in the audience by prompting it to observe, question and participate. I am using sculpture, textile and printmaking based techniques and processes to create installations and site-specific pieces that put the audience and its experience to the centre of the attention. My work is being informed by my practice both as an artist and as a dancer-performer.
In a discussion about your work what would you want to address?

I don’t want to be specific because I want to get some genuine reactions to the work. I would prefer if the viewers would ask the questions instead of me talking about the work. I would be very interested in the new ideas the viewers can offer.


Thank you to Vasiliki for giving us the time to talk about your work. We are excited to see it displayed and honoured to have you represented as an artist for Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform.

For more information on Jonna you can visit the Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform website.

To see more of Vasiliki’s art you can visit her on Instagram

To see her work at Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform you can buy tickets here.

We hope you can make it to the performance and have enjoyed this insight into what is to come.

Kaleidoscopic Arts Platform

This post was written by Cecilia Berghäll.
E:  platform@kaleidoscopic-arts.co.uk
F:  https://www.facebook.com/kaleidoscopicartsplatform
T:  https://www.twitter.com/ArtsKaleid

Leave a Reply

